15 years a NEET

DrDisrspected

DrDisrspected

NEET
Mar 28, 2021
At 24 I was fired from my job having worked there for 7 years.
Little did I know that the next 15 years of my life would be spent as a NEET.
It was only in the last few years I became aware of the term and later found this forum.

When I was 29, I moved out due to having copiously saved every wagie cheque I ever received during my time working.
I have clung on to NEET welfare benefits all this time scraping my way through ever since.

I have some job experience and alot of self taught skills which are meaningless in this world for the most part.
Never got a degree as I flunked out of a very good opportunity to get one mainly due to poor social skills.

I must admit that it felt very good going to sleep at 7am after smoking a fat joint.
Watching the wagecucks set out on the morning commute was not only satisfying but also extremely scary. I knew that one day it would also be my fate.

But I resisted and in doing so I lost more and more respect from family as time went by.

They couldn't understand why I would not just grab the nearest Mc Donald's gig and tough it out till I got "The dream job". I knew that being behind that cash register for one day meant I'd be writing my suicide note that very night.

It was not easy maintaining a steady stream of welfare payments. Constantly called in for appointments with inspectors, attempts to get me to go for shitty jobs and massive intrusion on my NEET existence.
This would happen for a period of a year or more before it would stop for a brief respite only to start again soon after.

I just had 18 months left alone and now once again they are chasing after me.
Not only that but my comfy flat was put up for sale. I have emerged to a rental market in chaos with prices sky rocketing.
Refused from multiple places due to no work reference and hopping between relatives houses who are quickly losing patience with me.